New City Speeding Ticket & Traffic Violation Attorney
Many drivers have made the decision to drive above the speed limit. But that does not negate the fact that the posted speed limit signs are the maximum speed that drivers are permitted to travel on streets and highways in the area. To be sure, speeding is illegal in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, and if you are caught speeding by law enforcement, you will likely be issued a traffic citation.
If you are convicted, the consequences will depend on how fast you were going when you were stopped. Drivers who are issued speeding tickets must pay a fine, and will receive points on their driver’s license. Once a certain amount of points are accrued, a driver can lose their license. Contact our experienced New City speeding ticket attorney today.
The Points System
Receiving too many points will result in you losing your license. Speeding tickets, along with other minor traffic infractions, are valued at a certain number of points based on how serious the traffic infraction was, or if you are a repeat offender. The maximum number of points you can have on your license depends on the state in which your driver’s license was issued:
- For New York, 11 in 18 months;
- For New Jersey, 12 in 24 months;
- For Connecticut, 10 in 24 months.
The list above shows the number of points necessary to lead to a driver’s license suspension.
If you receive a ticket and want to delay or try and prevent your license from being suspended, you can decrease the number of points you can have on your license before the DMV suspends your license by enrolling in and successfully completing a driver’s safety course. You can obtain a four point credit for completing the driver’s safety class.
Penalties For New York Speeding Tickets
The fines associated with a speeding ticket conviction are based on how fast you were going when you were caught. For instance, in New York, the fines are as follows:
- If you were speeding up to ten miles per hour over the speed limit, you can be fined between $90 and $150.
- If you were speeding between 11 miles per hour over the speed limit and 29 miles per hour over the speed limit, you can be fined between $180 and $300.
- If you were speeding more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, you can be fined between $360 and $600.
If you have received a speeding ticket, you should consult with a New City traffic offenses lawyer. Reach out to the office of Phillip J. Murphy today for a confidential consultation and to learn how we can help you.