New City Cell Phone Traffic Violation Attorney
Distracted driving is a serious problem in New York. Specifically, many drivers are distracted by their cell phones while behind the wheel, and this can create dangerous situations on the road. Distracted drivers are substantially more likely to be involved in an accident. That is why using a cell phone while driving as a general rule is illegal in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. All it takes is a law enforcement officer seeing you with a cell phone held to your head while you are driving for the officer to stop you and write you a ticket for a cell phone violation. Contact our experienced New City cell phone violation attorney today.
Drivers are not permitted to use cell phones while driving, with very limited exceptions. Instead, drivers should be focused on the task at hand, which is driving their vehicle safely. Prohibited activities involving cell phones while operating a vehicle include:
- Talking on a cell phone while driving;
- Texting, which includes writing, reading or sending text messages while operating a vehicle;
- Taking pictures with a cell phone, and sending them;
- Composing, accessing and sending emails on a smartphone; and
- Playing games on a smartphone.
There are exceptions to the law. For instance, in New York, a driver can use their cell phone to call police or the fire department in an emergency. Drivers can also use their cell phone in a hands-free mode, and they can also use their phone if it serves as a GPS if it is attached to the vehicle. A phone that is integrated into the vehicle’s surface is also an exception to the law.
Receiving a conviction for a cell phone violation while driving can result in points being added to your driver’s license, which could lead to an eventual suspension. Also, if you are convicted of a cell phone violation, you will be subject to a fine and surcharge.
Penalties for cell phone violations while driving are more strict for young or novice drivers in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. In addition to the other penalties faced by drivers who commit cell phone violations, young and novice drivers also face a 60-day suspension of their driving privileges if they are driving on a permit, probationary license, or junior license. If you are caught using a cell phone again within six months of a previous conviction, you can lose your driving privileges for at least six months if you have a probationary license or 60 days if you have a junior driver’s license or learner’s permit.
If you have been ticketed for a cell phone violation while driving, you need to consult with an experienced traffic violations lawyer as soon as possible. It is important to fight these charges. Reach out to skilled New York criminal defense attorney Phillip J. Murphy and discover your options.