Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Phillip J. Murphy Attorney at Law New City Criminal Defense Attorney
  • ~
  • Calls answered and returned 24/7

DUI Arrests In Bergen County: What You Need To Know

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) provides that every day, 28 people die in accidents that are related to alcohol-impairment. In its most recent data, the CDC shows that the state of New Jersey saw almost 2,000 alcohol-related automobile deaths between the years of 2003 and 2012. Fortunately, most drinking and driving arrests do not involve fatalities, but regardless of whether or not you have harmed another person or another’s property in an alcohol related driving incident, you should seek legal help immediately.

If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of New Jersey, you are not alone. Under New Jersey law, the only true way to measure a person’s impairment is through a blood alcohol test (BAC). This can be tested either through a breathalyzer or in some case, a blood test. To be considered under the influence, a person’s BAC must be 0.08% or greater. If your BAC is found to be 0.10% or higher, then you could be facing even more serious charges.

What Are New Jersey’s DUI Laws And Penalties?

If you are pulled over and administered a sobriety test or a Breathalyzer test and you fail, the penalties can be serious, including jail time, license suspension, fees and fines, and community service. The first time you are arrested for driving with a BAC between 0.08% to 0.10%, you could be facing a loss of licensure for up to 3 months, over $1,000 in fines and fees, up to 30 days in jail and up to 48 hours of community service.

If you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI and you take a Breathalyzer test with results showing a BAC of 0.10% or greater, your license could be suspended for up to a year with increased community service requirements as well as a requirement for an ignition interlock device once you regain your license.

Repeat offenders, as you might imagine, carry increased penalties. If you are convicted of a 3rd DUI within 10 years of your 2nd conviction, you can lose your license for a decade and face up to 180 days behind bars. The punishment here does not consider any related offenses such as wrecking or harming another person while you are driving impaired, if that is the case, you will be facing additional charges as well.

Bergen County DUI Attorney Is Key In Alcohol Related Defense

A person who drinks and drives is not a bad person, and just because you may have made a bad decision does not mean that you don’t deserve legal help. If you have been charged with a DUI or offenses relating to your DUI in Bergen County or the surrounding area, please contact Phillip J. Murphy, Attorney at Law. With many years of experience, we know exactly what to look for in building your DUI defense and we can further help you put a plan in place that a judge will look favorably upon in considering punishments.  Call today and let us help you get your life back on track.

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation