How the Need for Speed Can Impact You
Each day, hundreds of motorists are pulled over for traffic violations. One common violation, for which thousands of citations are issued each year, is failing to obey posted speed restrictions. If you or someone you know has received a speeding ticket, it is important to contact an experienced attorney to advise you on the law.
New Jersey statutes set forth speed limit restrictions within the state. Speed limit restrictions are grouped into categories based on the area in which a motorist is traveling through. New Jersey has taken special care to identify the speed limit in school zones and business or residential districts. The state has identified one speed limit for all other roadways.
- School Zones: In school zones, the enforceable speed limit is 25 miles per hour. This speed restriction applies while children are going to or leaving school, during recess, or any other time in which children are visible from the road.
- Business or Residential Districts: Generally, the speed limit for a business or residential district is 25 miles per hour. However, it is permissible to drive at a speed of 35 miles per hour while driving through a suburban business or residential district.
- All other roadways: In all other locations a motorist may travel at a speed that does not exceed 50 miles per hour. Throughout the state, there are certain areas designated as 65 miles per hour zones. This is the maximum speed limit in the state of New Jersey.
Despite the speed restrictions set forth above, many motorists often travel above the speed limits and are issued citations for violating the law.
The penalties imposed for speeding violations vary depending on the seriousness of the offense. An individual who travels at an unlawful speed may accumulate points on their driver’s license. In the event of a conviction, the court will assess 2 points to any individual traveling up to 14 miles per hour over the speed limit. Four points are assessed to individuals who exceed the speed limit by 15 to 29 miles per hour. If an individual is convicted of exceeding the maximum speed limit by 30 or more miles per hour, five points will be assessed. In addition to the accumulation of points a driver may be subject to fines, and/or imprisonment.
In the event of excessive speeding a driver may be charged with reckless driving. Reckless driving is defined as driving a motor vehicle with willful disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner that will endanger or is likely to endanger a person or property. This will subject the individual to additional fines and/or imprisonment of up to 60 days.
If you have been cited for a speeding violation, contact the law office of Phillip J. Murphy. We will arrange a consultation during which we will evaluate your case and advise you of the law. Attorney Murphy serves clients throughout Bergen County, New Jersey. Contact us today for an initial consultation.